Lincoln Park - Olney Pond
Opening day for trout fishing in Rhode Island is usually mid-April. Licenses are required for anglers 15 years of age and older. Licenses many be purchased at Rhode Island’s city halls and town halls and many local bait and retail shops or online at the Licensing and Registration web page of the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management.
A non-resident freshwater fishing license costs $35 and is valid for one year. Tourist freshwater fishing licenses are valid for three days and cost $16. Non-resident saltwater shellfish licenses are valid for 14 days and cost $11. Rhode Island law mandates that you keep your license visible while fishing. A Trout Stamp is required of any person wishing to keep or possess a trout, salmon, or char caught in Rhode Island waters or to fish in a catch and release area or in a fly fishing only area. Trout Stamps cost $5.50.
Rhode Island residents are not required to have a license for saltwater fishing unless they wish to sell the catch. Out-of-state residents must have a license to shellfish in Rhode Island waters; also, they are forbidden to take lobster. For more information contact the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management at 401-789-3094.
Block Island, RI
New Shoreham (Block Island), RI
Route 14 Bristol, RI 02809 Phone: 401-253-7482
Beavertail Road Jamestown, RI 02835 Phone: 401-423-9941 seasonal
Little Compton, RI
Off Seapowet Avenue Tiverton, RI 02878
Tiverton, RI 02878
South Kingstown, RI
Sanctuary Road (Route 1) Charlestown, RI 02813 Phone: 401-364-8910, seasonal
Charlestown, RI Phone: 401-364-7000
Richmond, RI 02898